Important Technology Information for Students and Staff leaving Oskaloosa Schools
What happens to my Google Account when I leave?
Seniors: Your Google Account will be deleted in the fall after your graduation, not before August.
Other Students: Your Google Account will be suspended or deleted a short time after you leave.
Staff: Your Google Account will be suspended in August if you are leaving at the end of the school year, otherwise shortly after you leave.
Make sure if you used this account for other accounts such as iTunes accounts, social media, etc. that you transfer those to a personal account soon so you don't forget. It can be very difficult to get some accounts changed if you don't have access to the account and once it has been deleted or suspended.
Make sure that you transfer ownership for any document or file to someone who needs it, such as in a club or group. They can make a copy and have full control over the copy after your file is deleted.
If you need help with learning how to transfer ownership, click here for instructions. Staff can also move documents into shared/team folders. Please put in a workorder if you need to be able to copy folders to shared/team drives as that option isn't available to all users.
You can use “Google Takeout” to download all of the Google data that you need. You are limited in how many archives you can download so make sure to wait until you are done with your classes first.
Some of the Google Data you can export/download:
- Google Mail/Contacts
- Google Drive Documents
- Google Calendar
Uncheck any types of information you don't want to take with you. This will make it go quicker and have less files.
Google Takeout - https://www.google.com/settings/takeout
Your data will be downloaded into a .zip file to be opened in other programs or uploaded into another Google Account.
Backing up Google Photos: (Don't use Google Takeout for Photos)
How to Back Up Google Photos Video - using Albums of less than 500 photos in each album - easy download of albums
Turn In Your Device
Please turn in your device to the office when you check out with either student services, or a secretary or principal. Make sure you turn in your charger, your bag if you had one and staff need to also turn in your HDMI/USB dongle (Anker brand).
Staff - Other Important Things To Do:
- Create a “Vacation Responder” to inform others that your email account will be ended soon and who to contact.
- Save Google Contacts that you want to save.
- Google Sites - If you have created any Google Sites that you want to keep, the easiest way to do this is to add your personal account as an editor and then have that account make a copy of the site. This will give you a copy of the original that will still be around a year from now.
- To save your files from your computer, use a portable hard drive or USB flash drive to transfer them to another computer. You can also upload them to store in a personal Google Account.
More instructions on Google Takeout for Teachers: https://teachingforward.net/google-takeout-transfer/
Staff computers will be wiped/fully erased after turn-in, before issuing to another staff member.